Author Topic: Zh2 bar risers  (Read 1332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Greenmonster

  • ZH2 Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: Zh2
  • Town / City: Isle of Wight
Zh2 bar risers
on: October 16, 2020, 08:13:16 PM
Hi guys has anyone fitted bar risers to there zh2 and if so where did you purchase them? :)

#1

Online wallycycle

  • ZH2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
  • Town / City: Murrieta
Re: Zh2 bar risers
Reply #1 on: November 20, 2020, 07:41:49 PM
I'm going to experiment with either bar riser block spacers or new bars. Both parts arriving this weekend. I'll post up my impressions of both once I've done the two installations and test ride; ergonomics, fitting issues if any like cable/hose slack etc...

I'm hoping the bars work because I'd really prefer wider bars than OEM. I'm also not keen on the bend of the OEM bars. Puts my wrists at a weird angle.

More to follow.

#2

Online wallycycle

  • ZH2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
  • Town / City: Murrieta
Re: Zh2 bar risers
Reply #2 on: December 18, 2020, 06:42:55 PM
I installed a Pro Taper bar that is about two inches wider than OEM and has more rise and for me, a more pleasing bend for my wrists. That helped with ergonomics but still wanted a bit more. Installed 20mm riser blocks under the bars. I can confirm that there is enough slack to accommodate. That is if one removes both the small clutch line and brake line clamps that are bolted at the frame/headstock sides.

My neck and shoulders are happier now.

#3

Offline Greenmonster

  • ZH2 Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: Zh2
  • Town / City: Isle of Wight
Re: Zh2 bar risers
Reply #3 on: December 30, 2020, 05:19:24 PM
Hi WALLYCYCLE
What part number were the pro taper bars that you fitted and where did you get the risers?

#4

Online wallycycle

  • ZH2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
  • Town / City: Murrieta
Re: Zh2 bar risers
Reply #4 on: December 31, 2020, 04:30:30 PM
*Originally Posted by Greenmonster [+]
Hi WALLYCYCLE
What part number were the pro taper bars that you fitted and where did you get the risers?

The Pro Taper bar I used is the same I put on my Indian FTR 1200S. It's call the Indian "Rally Bar". This is it:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2019-Indian-FTR-1200-Rally-Handlebar-by-ProTaper-Black-2883769/233196232251?epid=17031625945&hash=item364b941e3b:g:zPIAAOSwPrtcJSYZ

That bar worked great but I wanted just a bit more so I installed these 20mm riser blocks.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/HandleBar-Bar-Risers-Mount-Clamp-Adapter-For-Honda-Yamaha-Suzuki-Kawasaki-KTM/254315865997?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=553839542265&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

As is common with most all motorcycles, the switch gear block housings have locator pins where they mount into holes on your oem bar. The Pro Taper bar is aluminum as are all aftermarket bars (Pro Taper, Renthal, etc...) so it's easy to drill holes for your switch housings, once you've determined the correct position.

Keep in mind, the bar I used is at the relative extreme in width. A bit wider than a standard aftermarket dirt bike bar so not for everyone. Plus it is a bit more expensive. It might be a good idea to remove your oem bar and head to your local m/c shop / m/c accessory shop for comparison. Maybe even sit on some bikes where the bar feels good and take some measurements.

 


chaos